Capilano Suspension Bridge Park

Canada Capilano Suspension Bridge
Photo via Vancity Buzz

Capilano Suspension Bridge

 

Photo via World For Travel

Canada Capilano Suspension Bridge

Photo via Vancity Buzz

Canyon Lights 2012 @ Capilano Suspension Bridge

Canada · Capilano Suspension Bridge Park

The Capilano Suspension Bridge sways 70 meters above the Capilano River. This 137-meter-long suspension bridge draws hundreds of thousands of visitors each year and is one of Vancouver’s most popular attractions.

Although the bridge was the origin of the park and still attracts the most visitors, the Capilano Suspension Bridge offers lots of other activities. The latest addition to the park is the Cliffwalk, a series of suspended walkways that cling to the cliffs. In some places the bridges are made from glass so you can look straight down. The Treetops Adventure is another fantastic fun walk at a great height. This attraction offers visitors a glimpse into the ancient rainforest, seen from the perspective of a squirrel. The bridges connect one Douglas fir tree to the next. Some of these trees are 1300 years old. The bridges and viewing platforms have been cleverly attached to the trees without the use of damaging pins or bolts.

During the holiday season, the Capilano Suspension Bridge Park offers the ultimate Christmas experience: Canyon Lights. The bridge is decorated with hundreds of lights and sways like a beacon of light in the dark valley. The rest of the park is also beautifully illuminated. The park also lays claim to having the largest live Christmas tree in the world: a 250-year-old Douglas fir measuring 46.4 meters in height.

Built in 1889 by Scottish civil engineer George Grant Mackay, the Capilano Suspension Bridge was constructed of hemp rope and cedar planks. Once the bridge was in place, Mackay’s property became popular among his friends who took the name “the Capilano Tramps” to mark themselves as the adventurous types who would dare cross the swaying bridge. The crude original version was upgraded to a wire cable bridge in 1903. Then in 1910, the property was sold and began changing hands across the years as each subsequent owner built the bridge’s reputation as a world-class adventure tourism destination. The span was completely rebuilt in 1956 and is now under the purview of a small chain of rustic tourist attractions.